Have the midwestern professional teams become the Cubs of basketball, lovable losers? Earlier I described how the Milwaukee Bucks are more competitive than their record shows. I still stand by that statement, and want to include the Cleveland Cavaliers in that category. The post-Lebron era has gone smoothly thanks to the coaching of Byron Scott (oh just imagine if Lebron had been on that team with a real coach instead of goofy Mike Brown).
Despite these competitive teams, the results are the same.
Maybe it's bad luck. But the teams aren't even winning on their home floors. The Bulls are the only team with a winning home record right now. None have a winning record on the road.
And yes, I know that it is early and the season is long and everything. But I was very surprised to see that the only other division that only has one team above .500 is the Atlantic in the East (which besides Boston is also a joke division). I just wonder if these teams have what it takes to become elite. Remember the Pacers with Reggie Miller back in the day? Earlier this decade the Pistons were the most feared team in the league. The 90s was defined by Midwest basketball with Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls.
Now these teams are defined by opening montages (Bulls), Broadcast Announcers (Pistons-er rather DETROIT BASKETBALLLLLL), and new logos every year (Cavaliers). When will these teams be recognized for being contenders?
Maybe the teams will pick it up once Football season ends...
No comments:
Post a Comment